Wednesday, April 15, 2009

Wadena County Gets Federal Disaster Aid

Wadena county has been added to a list of 15 counties eligible to receive federal disaster assistance. Congressman Jim Oberstar says the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) will provide assistance to communities hit by severe storms and flooding that occurred on and after March 16, 2009.

"Minnesotans are used to dealing with spring storms, but the weather system that moved across the state in mid-March was particularly destructive," says the ranking Minnesota Democrat. "Wadena County washed out several roads and in Lake County ice brought down hundreds of trees leaving large parts of the county without power for days."

The declaration covers Clay, Grant, Kittson, Lake, Mahnomen, Marshall, Norman, Ottertail, Pennington, Polk, Red Lake, Roseau, Traverse, Wadena and Wilkin counties. They will be eligible to apply for assistance with costs incurred in the aftermath of the storm.

AddThis Social Bookmark Button


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home

Subscribe to
Posts [Atom]

Powered by Blogger


Home | Schedule | News | Weather | Streaming | Contests | Home Shopping | Obits | Trips | Events | Service

Advertise with Us | About | Contact | Directions | FAQ | Site Map | Links | EEO

Copyright 2007 KLKS. All rights reserved.

Explore Brainerd Lakes

Site Meter