Wednesday, February 22, 2012

New Legislative Lines for Brainerd Lakes

The legislative boundaries saw a significant shift in the Brainerd Lakes area, the result of redistricting.

Crow Wing County, which had for many years been paired with Morrison County, now will be matched with Aitkin County in Senate District 10.  Legislative district 10 A will take in Brainerd and on north into the Brainerd Lakes country.  10B will include southern and western Crow Wing County and all of Aitkin county. 

Incumbent John Ward resides in 10A.  There is no representative in 10B.

The new lines will put Republican Representative Larry Howes of Walker and DFL Representative John Persell of Bemidji in the same district and DFL Senator Tom Saxhaug of Grand Rapids will be in the same district as Republican Senator John Carlson of Bemidji.

Area legislators were surprised by the new lines.  A panel formed by the Chief Justice of the MN Supreme Court created the new boundaries following the 2010 census, because DFL Governor Mark Dayton and Legislative Republicans could not agree on a common plan.

AddThis Social Bookmark Button


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home

Subscribe to
Posts [Atom]

Powered by Blogger


Home | Schedule | News | Weather | Streaming | Contests | Home Shopping | Obits | Trips | Events | Service

Advertise with Us | About | Contact | Directions | FAQ | Site Map | Links | EEO

Copyright 2007 KLKS. All rights reserved.

Explore Brainerd Lakes

Site Meter